Skip to content

Evangeline Chavez at Abo, New Mexico

February 25, 2010

Evangeline Chavez at Abo

Abo, New Mexico
kd sebastian

Occasionally, I get to head out with serious photographers. Intimidating? Oh yeah, but since I don’t aspire to greatness, I love to watch.

The days are long, starting before dawn to catch the light and ending after the sunset dribbles away behind the mountains. My job is to be the designated driver, navigator, DJ and studio assistant.

This week I was lucky enough to spend several days with one of New Mexico’s favorite shooters, Evangeline Chavez. Mile after mile in the snow and mud and wind, painfully reminding me just how physical it is to photograph in New Mexico’s outback.

This shot of the artist in action was taken in Abo, just east of Mountainair, New Mexico. For more of her work and info on her new book, click here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Evangeline permalink
    February 25, 2010 6:39 pm

    Thank you for the write up, but I wish I could pay you all what you are worth.
    It is hard to put up with a photographer who at whim wants you to stop for the perfect shot. If you want you can have the job for life.
    Thanks again for helping me out.

    Evangeline

Leave a Reply

