Skip to content

Lucy Duran’s Bordertown Liver and Onions

March 24, 2010

Liver was served to “build up the blood” in the spring. Mrs. Duran’s, and my grandmother’s version was of the “cook the meat until it becomes shoe leather” style.

I no longer eat liver unless it’s certified organic but I confess to occasionally sniffing wistfully when liver and onion is the blue plate special at the 66 Diner on Central.

1 1/2 # beef liver, sliced 1/2 ” thick
4 TBL bacon drippings,
4 tomatoes, sliced thick
1 tsp salt
4 onions, thinly sliced
2 c. water
1 TBL red chile powder

Fry liver in drippings until brown on both sides. Remove from pan and cut into 1/4 ” strips crosswise. Return liver to pan, add remaining ingredients, cover and simmer about 25 minutes or until sauce has thickened.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 1:46 am

    You probably won’t get any comments on liver and onions, but I like the recipe. Will try it. Last liver and onions recipe I tried was venison liver soaked in milk. Lost the recipe. Will try yours. What a recipe.

    • March 25, 2010 2:52 pm

      Since I barter as much as I can, I get venison during season. Also, I do a lot with doves and game birds. My husband’s father was the Pojoque tribal gunsmith so hunting has always been a part of my life both before and after I got married. If I could only get decent at fly fishing, we’d have it all. That’s been one of the wonderful things about Oregon: you really can grow and hunt enough to get by, if you have the skills. In New Mexico, it’s not quite as easy but I’m looking forward to trying.

      • March 25, 2010 3:15 pm

        I envy your placement in New Mexico, geographic as well as familial. What a life you have! I want to hear more about your adaptations. We are going to ratchet down some things here on Flying Hat and leave a smaller footprint and enhance naturally the place. Fly fishing! My son-in-law in Lubbock knows the art. Taught my wife and my daughter, Wendy, up near Eagle Nest, on the Cimarron River. I’m not skilled at that. My, oh, my. We’ve all got to have a drink or two near your place and Evangeline’s some day: swap stories, barter, trade, a regular parley — New Mexico style. Bonhomie? I think so.

        Doc Watson: /Come all you good time people/While I have money to spend/Tomorrow might be Monday/And I’ll have neither dollar nor dime/

        I listen to Doc Watson, others, on the road between Abilene and Hannibal. Go figure how I can remember the words on 87.2 miles of highway. I don’t listen coming to Abilene. If I did, I might just miss the exit and end up in El Paso and have to charter a flight for my wife, horses, dogs and cats to reunite.

        Forgive my going off the rails here in my comment…won’t happen again. Or, maybe it will. Food and art will do me in every time.

        • March 25, 2010 7:44 pm

          My brittany’s name is Doc Holiday. He’s never been to NM (or a city) but I think it will suit him. And I’ll definitely add Doc Watson to the road trip playlist. Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

