Skip to content

How to Photograph a Buffalo

April 25, 2010

How do you photograph a buffalo?

Very, very carefully.

Evangeline Chavez stalks the wily Buffalo

If you haven’t checked out Evangeline Chavez’s incredible buffalo shots, you’re missing a rare experience.

Few people have her access to native lands, much less to the Sandia Pueblo herd range lands. I was lucky enough to head out with her on a buffalo feed.  That night I relearned what I had already long known: there are no tame buffalo.

Sandia Pueblo is one of the 19 tribes of the Inter Tribal Bison Cooperative working to reestablish healthy buffalo populations on tribal lands.


The tribes, many of who were historically enemies, understood that reintroduction of the buffalo to tribal lands will help heal the spirit of both the Indian people and the buffalo. This sense of shared purpose and cooperation has started to return the herds that were reduced to less than 1500 head after the railroad workers slaughtered them for food.


Looking for a shot of the elusive and long fabled white buffalo? Check out Evangeline’s white buffalo here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 2:45 pm

    Thank you for this posting and Evangeline. I’m so glad the buffalo are making comeback. I really want to visit and see the buffalo, if Evangeline can take me in. I hope you are able to come back to NM and be content. I read that Oregon was very close to your heart and hard to leave. I continue to read your recipes and prevail upon Brenda to try some. She is enthusiastic about your cuisine. As am I.

    • April 26, 2010 3:51 pm

      Thanks. Transitions are always difficult but when you’ve got good friends on your side, it works out. Should be taking the first load of stuff in a week or so then back to wrap up. I’m hoping to get some a last camp out on the coast before I go. Need anything from out here?

    • April 26, 2010 11:20 pm

      Jack any time you come down I will take you to see Leroy the buffalo caretaker and the buffalo..

  2. April 26, 2010 11:21 pm

    Karen you always take my best side when taking my picture

Leave a Reply

