Skip to content

Druid’s Fluid Adieu

April 26, 2010
I Go On A Quest For Druid’s Fluid

Moving out of the Applegate Valley means leaving all the wonderful wineries I’ve come to savor. One of the first places I discovered was Troon Vineyard.

The long and dusty road up to the Troon Vineyard has the feel of going on a quest. Doc and I played hooky today on one of the first sunny day of the season, going in search of the perfect red to go with tonight’s dinner. signpost

From it’s start in 1972 as one of Oregon’s Applegate Valley’s early wineries, the  Troon Vineyard has morphed from a tasting room to a full service experience. Offering summer brunches, on-site winemaker dinners and cooking classes lets Team Troon showcase their meticulously designed complex.

Several samples later, standing outside looking over the vineyards and smelling the dusty air, I think I agree with their claim that “Troon Vineyard is the Center of the Universe“.

troon signYou may not be able to see the winery as you drive out onto Humbug Creek Road, but the parting sight of grape vines stamped into the concrete drive lets you know where you’ve been.

grape cement

Don’t have time to make it all the way out to the Applegate? Troon offers tastings in a variety of places and is available everywhere.  I run into them frequently at the Rogue Creamery when I stop to pick up my weekly garlic cheese curds.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 2:38 pm

    Quite a post! Would love to visit Troon’s. You make it sound so enticing. I envy you in being able to drive out and get a good wine for your meal. Wished they were closer.

    • May 2, 2010 3:14 pm

      Bringing some with me, actually, if the truck runs today. The best part about the Valley is the incredible food and wines, the open spaces and the open-hearted people. I’ve been very lucky to share it.

  2. April 27, 2010 5:13 am

    We don’t want you to move away, we’ll miss you.

    • April 27, 2010 3:02 pm

      I’m heartbroken to leave but the economy has left me no choice. Want to buy a cool house in downton J’ville with an organic garden and small orchard?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Druid’s Fluid Adieu « New Mexico Photography -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

