Skip to content

Bodhi Mandala Zen Center Vegan Bok Choy Salad

April 30, 2010

When I go up to spend the day around Jemez Springs, I always bring a good lunch. Traditionally, I bring something Asian in the spirit of Bohdi. This vegan salad, with toasted almonds, is my favorite. It’s good with over cold buckwheat noodles, too.

1 ½ c. sliced almonds
2 # small sliced organic bok choy
1 small head red organic cabbage sliced thin
1 julienned green bell pepper
1 julienned red bell pepper
½  c. apple cider organic vinegar
½ c. grapeseed oil
½ c. tamari, wheat-free organic
½ c. organic brown sugar

Toast almonds in oven about 6 minutes. Cool.

Prep veggies. Add to cool almonds.

Combine vinegar, oil tamari and brown sugar. Pour over veggies and toss gently.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. boatacrosstheriver permalink
    July 17, 2010 2:09 am

    I love Jemez Springs so much and I miss it every day! Do you visit the Zen Center there often?

    • July 17, 2010 2:14 am

      I’m living for the summer about 6 hours away so I head there as much as I can. Stayed at the Laughing Lizard last weekend. The new owners are great.

  2. boatacrosstheriver permalink
    July 17, 2010 1:04 pm

    Very cool — have a wonderful summer! If I could get my family to move with me to New Mexico I would do it in a heartbeat. There’s no place else like it. Have you gone to the hot springs that are about five miles back off the road down a road and a then up the mountain? It’s not the one that is more accesible and very popular there near the parking lot…if not I highly recommend it. We biked back to it and were the only ones there, soaking in the springs on the side of the mountain. Wish I could tell you the service road that you pull off on to start hiking, but someone would definitely know!

Leave a Reply

