Skip to content

First Oregon Catholic Church For Sale in Jacksonville?

May 11, 2010

St. Joseph’s Catholic Church with Trolley
Jacksonville, Oregon
Karen Rivera 2009

One of the most charming reasons to live in a small town is hearing the Sunday Services down the street from my house. Even though I have to leave, I never thought the historic Church would. It’s been there since 1858 but it’s being closed and probably put up for sale. To say my community is stunned is an understatement.

St. Joseph’s Catholic Church in Jacksonville in Southern Oregon was the first Catholic Church built in Oregon. I’ve watched as the parishioners paid for a new heating system, painted the outside, installed new carpet and wallpaper, upgraded the doors and windows and refinished the pews without help from the diocese. Volunteers mow the lawn, rake the leaves and set-up the Sunday picnic benches. Their meticulous yard work makes me wince when I see my front yard. Apparently, self-maintenance and donating a cash collection every week in exchange for a monthly 4 hours of Masses wasn’t enough to keep the doors open for the 100 or so members.

Regardless of your feelings for the Catholic Church, this is a comitted group of people who have been taking care of each other since 1956. It’s not just a building that’s going to be lost.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 6:16 pm

    When churches are being put for sale, I know times are bad.

    • May 11, 2010 6:44 pm

      I know, this is horrible. My heart is breaking. I’ve watched so many wedding, baptisms and celebrations that I felt part of the community.

Leave a Reply

