Skip to content

Green Chile Dreams in Pueblo and Texas Green Chile Posole

September 28, 2010

I’m not the only one dreaming of the smells of the fall harvest.  Last weekend’s Chile Festival in Pueblo is stuffed into my freezer so I tried a posole recipe from Rob Walsh’s Texas Eats blog. His affectionate shout out to New Mexico’s Hatch chile, and his Texas Green Chile Posole, warmed my heart. I upped the heat with a few yellow, red and green jalapenos  from the ristra I brought home and roasted Sunday. I’m always willing to let someone else string for me when I see the duct-taped fingers the stringers have.

When you’re roasting your own there are several schools of thought.I’m more of the just slap those puppies on the grill while I’m drinking a beer but if you are a more meticulous chef,  Buck Cooks has the whole rundown of methods with some great photos. By the way, here’s a much more refined and in-depth recipe for an authentic Pueblo Green Chile sauce than I make and one from the Mira Sol Chile site for Green Chile Cavier.

Since I was in Pueblo,  I was told I had to stop by Gagliano’s Italian Market. So for sweets after all the heat, I headed over in search of a stuffed  Italian bread called Potica, a yeasty sweet bread filled with honey, walnuts and brandied currents.The deli was closed for the day but because I’m in a painfully nostalgic mood with time on my hands, I went ahead and made my own Potica. I always plan to put some of it in the freezer but it never ends up there.

I understand that you can order Potica for the holidays from several bakeries in Pueblo including Mauro Farms.  What holiday? Who cares? Just try it.

If you’re looking for a few more green chili options for the chili you’ve brought home, here’s a start:

San Juan Hot Red and Green Chile Hushpuppies

Rellanos de Chile Verde

Mrs. Ruth’s Green Chile Albondigas

Mom’s Green Chile Sauce With Meat

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 12:15 am

    hi! I grew up in Puebo, visited last summer. Green Chili is my favorite food. I make a version of it up here in Portland. So you say you got the Pueblo Chilis from the festival. Do you know of anyone down there who sells and ships them?

    • October 17, 2010 1:11 pm

      You could try calling Mira Sol. I don’t know who ships fresh but they can probably connect you with someone if they can’t.

      Mira Sol Chile Corp
      1745 N. Erie
      Pueblo, Colorado 81001
      Contact us by email: mirasolchile@mirasolchile.com
      FAX – 719.948.9306
      Phone – 719.948.9305

Leave a Reply

