Skip to content

A Stormy Saturday Afternoon in Santa Fe

October 5, 2010

Saturday Afternoon Storm
Santa Fe, New Mexico
October 2,  2010
Karen Rivera

Why bother fighting the crowds at the Balloon Fiesta when there is this kind of thrill up north? Thunder, hail, rain and glorious bursts of sunlight show off a marvelous fall Saturday in Santa Fe and Pecos. It made the 12 hour round trip from Colorado Springs worth every mile.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 3:09 pm

    I love Santa Fe and I lived in Colorado Springs for 8 years. So, this post is one I can relate to. Great shot!

    • October 5, 2010 4:38 pm

      Thanks. I took it just before the hail hit and had to wait out the storm. It’s tough to get a shot of Santa Fe without the new housing and all the power lines. I’m new to Colorado Springs and still find myself going to Santa Fe whenever I can. At least they’ve got good chile here at the flea market.

  2. October 11, 2010 11:28 am

    I agree. Why go farther south? Santa Fe is spectacular! That’s a long trip of five hours. It takes us ten to twelve to get to SF from Mingus.

    • October 11, 2010 4:13 pm

      It’s a fun trip in a small VW, except during major storms. I also got caught outside Waltrus for long enough to read through all the cool art stuff I picked up at the Visitor’s Center near the new Flea Market. My next project is to go and photograph the Philmont buffalo near the turn off for Cimarron.

Leave a Reply

