Skip to content

Comme Chez Vous Appetizers ~ Palourdes au Gratin

November 4, 2010

Attending cooking school in France gave me an unreasonable lust for pate and palourdes au gratin. Comme Chez Vous in Santa Fe is where I went to get my fix until they closed.

Some restaurants just stay with you. I never worked at Comme Chez Vous. It would have ruined the magic to see behind the scenes. I did, however destroy my first credit card limit there.

I remember some great red wines, incredible Flamenco and a guy named Curly Waffles. I treasured a bootleg tape until it wore out of Robbie Robertson and Rolf Cahn performing at the Comme Chez Vous. Rolf died in 1994 but, as always, he went down singing.

One of the most classic French menus I ever wrote and designed was an homage to Comme Chez Vous.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 4:15 pm

    Clams, oysters, pate. I’ve seen stacked platters of those three-feet high at Chez —– (can’t remember the name) down from the Crillon. Oh, I must go back and sample. What a great homage to Comme Chez Vous.

Trackbacks

  1. Making Edible Vegetable Arrangements : Edible Vegetable Arrangement: Making Turnip Flowers

Leave a Reply

