Skip to content

San Antonio Church at Punta de Agua

November 16, 2010

Punta de Agua
Highway 55, Southern New Mexico
Karen Rivera

The small villages along Highway 55 have always held a special place in my hard-scrabble New Mexican heart. Using the few resources available in the barren, harsh acres early settlers recycled the ever-present rocks into homes, walls, and churches.

In Punta de Agua, the rough-cut stone San Antonio Church stands as a monument to an earlier example of sustainable and green building.

If you’d like to walk through Punta de Agua at street level, click here to go to Google Maps, then click satellite.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 5:49 pm

    Karen, I like the colors in this photo. Blues, white, grays. Unusual blending. Stone, sky, and paint. Wouldn’t you say?

    I notice you have changed your theme for your blog. Good choice. I changed two months ago and may again, but right now I’m okay. I am enjoying reading about your culinary history and several of the recipes we are going to attempt. I am looking forward to going through your previous posts.

  2. March 5, 2010 5:51 pm

    Thank you for including me in your blogroll, Karen.

  3. July 27, 2012 12:20 am

    This is a post for Karen Rivera, That is a picture of the San Antonio church but it is not located in Punta De Agua. The San Antonio church is located 13 miles north of Punta in a town named Tajique.
    The Patron Saint for the Punta church is St. Vincent De Paul.
    I live about 50 yards down the road from this church so I do know what I’m talking about.
    Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. diariosdominicanos.com

Leave a Reply

