Skip to content

Hidden Grave with Flowers ~ Nambe Pueblo, New Mexico

January 30, 2011

Nambe Cemetery
Nambe Pueblo, New Mexico
Karen Rivera
January 2011

I shoot a lot of cemetaries. For heart-rending, technicolor boisterous displays, you just can’t beat a New Mexican cemetary on Easter, Day of the Dead or Christmas. I’ve made it to my favorite, the Nambe cemetary in Nambe, every Boxing Day for most of the last 20 years. I follow that up with New Year’s Day in Acoma. It seems to make the perfect emotional double-header.

I found this small, weathered cross tucked away in a far corner surrounded by tumbleweeds and scruffy dead plants. The new flowers shows that this lonely hidden grave hadn’t been forgotten.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 1:16 am

    That grave of a loved one had not been forgotten, was it? I like that. When young, I traveled with my mother “to do cemetery work,” as it was called. Nambe Pueblo — one of the most secluded of them all. Have wanted to camp at their falls. Never did. Maybe someday. Hope all is well with you, Karen. We’re still coming out of the fog, but things are better. What’s the saying, “Time heals all things.” This semester may be my last. Hollowed out. We are prepping for an Arctic blast. Just about decided to cancel classes Tuesday because of ice and snow.

    Acoma. More from me on that beautiful place later this year.

    Thanks, Jack

  2. January 31, 2011 12:54 pm

    I’m from Nambe Pueblo.

    I wonder if Karen and Jack are talking about the same place? There is the church and cemetery at Nambe, a Hispanic community adjacent to Nambe Pueblo, an Indian village, that also has a church and cemetery.

Leave a Reply

