Skip to content

Caldito ~ 1950′s New Mexican Soup Recipe

May 3, 2010

La Conquistadora Shrine, Chimayo, New Mexico

Yes, it’s a classic 1950’s New Mexican soup but it’s always seemed, I don’t know, kind of flat. Mom loved it. She said it reminded her of her mom’s cooking. I’m too smart to make any comments about that but I will give some advice. but take my advice. Try it with lots and lots offresh roasted, peeled, chopped green chile or a huge spoonfuls of pico de gallo.

Yield: 4 servings
Cooking Time: Approximately 35 minutes

1 pound lean ground beef
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups diced potatoes
2 Tbs bacon grease or oil
1/2 cup finely chopped onions
1/2 teaspoon pepper
4 cups water

1. Fry beef, potatoes and onions in oil in a medium-sized saucepan at medium heat until browned.

2. Add water and seasonings.

3. Cover and simmer at low heat until potatoes are tender. Serve hot.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 5:39 am

    Yes mom always cooked this recipe, but the only thing I added was green chile, thanks for all the great NM recipes.

  2. March 28, 2010 3:24 pm

    Karen: What a fabulous recipe. Can’t wait to try it. What a blogsite you have! Last night we had sirloin burgers with a Fredericksburg, Texas, recipe for coleslaw. I’ll try the soup with pico de gallo. Great recipe!

  3. March 28, 2010 3:25 pm

    Thank you for putting me on your blogroll.

  4. Alicia permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:38 pm

    I was once at Disneyland about 25- 30 years ago and they had, at that time, an international food area. I stopped in at the Mexican pavilion and had this extraordinary soup which to this date I remember but dont know what it was called. It was very thick, creamy, and white with very soft pieces of something in it which were white and dough-like in texture and was hoping that you knew what this soup may be. I have looked and looked through recipes but have never found anything resembling this probably very old fashioned soup. I would be grateful for your help. BTW I will be trying the Caldito. It sounds wonderful.

  5. Jack permalink
    March 8, 2011 6:50 pm

    Am sitting on porch in warm sun. Thanks for your email. Will reply later. Have no computer, using iPhone.

Leave a comment